Useful Maps for your journey

It takes a lot more than just being born and getting through school to make a fully matured human being. These things are hard enough in themselves and are certainly not trivial but there are further stages of growth that beckon and here are the maps I have used for better understanding them. 

My sense is world society is eventually going to have an accepted “technology of awakening” and that we are growing towards an “interspiritual age”

I believe a better sense of how the awakening process occurs will help to demystify and normalise it and save a lot of us time in getting sidetracked on dead end roads.

My hope is any benefit to be found in this series of talks will contribute to the acceleration of this outcome.



The seven factors of enlightenment

"No one and nothing can free you but your own understanding." Ajahn Chah

“There are two kinds of suffering.

There is the suffering you run away from, which follows you everywhere. And there is the suffering you face directly, and so become free.”

Ajahn Chah

The 5 Spiritual Powers, the 5 Indriyas of early Buddhism

“These days people don’t search for the Truth. People study simply in order to find knowledge necessary to make a living, raise families and look after themselves, that’s all. To them, being smart is more important than being wise!”   Ajahn Chah

“Do not try to become anything. Do not make yourself into anything.

Do not be a meditator. Do not become enlightened. When you sit, let it be. When you walk, let it be.

Grasp at nothing. Resist nothing. If you haven’t wept deeply, you haven’t begun to meditate.”

Ajahn Chah

The Seven Stages of Initiation

“Peace is within oneself, to be found in the same place as agitation and suffering. It is not found in a forest or on a hilltop, nor is it given by a teacher. Where you experience suffering, you can also find freedom from suffering. Trying to run away from suffering is actually to run toward it.”  Ajahn Chah

Close Menu